A week in Durham

In June I went back to Durham for a week. I really wanted to do this because it was my last opportunity to see a lot of my friends there who are graduating this year. Also, I wanted to go to June Ball, an event my college holds every year which is so much fun!

Amazingly, the weather in Durham was not that different to that in Florence!

IMG_4818
Even though I was a little disappointed because I’d bought a new pair of jeans especially and did not get to wear them, I could not really complain. It was lovely to be able to spend time with my friends outside, which is a surprisingly rare occasion in Durham!

IMG_3951I also went for a LOT of brunches, I had no kitchen facilities and a lot of people to catch up with okay!

IMG_3981
this was amazinggg
IMG_4002
the perfect June Ball prep

Having had a year’s break from studying in Durham, and what with the unusually good weather, I found myself really appreciating how beautiful it is a lot more.

IMG_3956

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

IMG_3992

Finally the day came for the much anticipated June Ball! We dedicated the entire day (well, after brunch) to getting ready, getting more and more excited as time went on. It did not disappoint.

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

19402169_1486109244742579_641914391285295208_o

The theme was never grow up, and the food was delicious.

IMG_4005IMG_4011IMG_4036

IMG_4040
those stones were edible!

IMG_4044IMG_4065

I had an absolutely lovely week in Durham. It has made me really excited to go back in October. I realise I am looking at it through rose tinted glasses, especially because the weather was so nice and everyone had finished exams so were feeling really relaxed and just focused on having fun, but it has made me really want to make the most of my final year.

Leave a Reply

