Week 12 : Eurovision

This week saw my attempts at getting a job in Florence and experiencing Eurovision from another country!

I started the week on 8th May by Santa Croce for a drink with my friends after our lecture. Not before, however, posing in front of the signs celebrating 30 years of Erasmus lol..

IMG_3309

18447098_10155203650635119_8855754013414671439_n

On the Thursday we went for an aperitivo at Oibo for Laura’s birthday. I got a really cool one, I think called Little Red Riding Hood or something, it was such a beautiful colour!

IMG_3320If you go to an aperitivo here I highly recommend the fried dough, It was irresistible.

This week saw me attempt to get a job. I printed off loads of CVs and handed them round to various shops and bars on Wednesday. On Thursday I got a call from a cafe by San Lorenzo organising an interview for the Friday.

I was absolutely terrified before the interview; I arrived half an hour early (which was obviously very unnecessary in Italy- they ended up delaying the interview by half an hour anyway!). When I finally entered the cafe I stumbled over the word interview (colloquio) and from there on in they decided I couldn’t speak Italian.

It was so stressful but by the end it seemed as if I had got the job- they asked me to send them my timetable for the next few weeks and all the relevant documents.

When I left I had so much adrenaline! It transpires that I did not in fact get the job; they never got back to me, despite chasing them up. However, it was an invaluable experience, interviewing in Italian. And I had to remind myself of a lot of Italian the night before in preparation, which was a much needed refresh!

On Saturday I went to a friend’s house for Eurovision!!! It was so fun experiencing Eurovision from central Europe, and I only ended up getting home at 7am!!

Leave a Reply

