Week Nine : Cinque Terre

This weekย included a picnic in the Cascine park, a gelato festival in Piazzale Michelangelo and a rainy day in Cinque Terre!

We started the week with a picnic in the Cascine park. I actually live pretty close to this park so will definitely be going for runs here when I finally motivate myself to put my trainers on!

It was super cute we sat by the river and ate strawberries and breadsticks haha.

That evening we went to the Lion’s Fountain which is an Irish pub in Santa Croce. This was all well and good until an onslaught of Americans arrived! Probably least Italian place here!

The weekend was super fun, on Saturday I met up with Annabel’s tandem partners for coffee and lunch and then went to the gelato festival (!) on Piazzale Michelangelo.

This was the first time I’d been to Piazzale Michelangelo and I definitely recommend! The views over Florence are amazing, the photos do not do them justice at all. I’d also heard that it was an intense trek but it really is not that bad.

The gelato itself was not that great to be honest, so I was quite disappointed in that respect. But the atmosphere and setting made up for it!

After the festival we went to Santa Croce and got a drink at Dondino.

And then to Yellow Bar where you can get some really nice pasta and pizzas.

On Sunday I went on an Erasmus trip to Cinque Terre!

Unfortunately, the weather was not at all on our side. It rained all morning and I soon discovered I had holes in my shoes and had to walk around the whole day with soggy feet which was not ideal!

However, the views more than made up for this.
The trains in between each town were also ridiculous, many were at least an hour delayed and this meant we only managed to see three of the towns in the day!

I guess the positive of this is that I’ll have to come back here on a sunnier day and properly explore!

Overall, Cinque Terre was beautiful and a great day trip from Florence. Highly recommend!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Leave a Reply

