Munich

lovelyflower

I spent last weekend in Munich with my friend Immy. This was the first time I’d been to Germany and it was so so fun!

I had to get the train from Gare de l’Est at 6:30 Friday morning (decided to make the most of the Ascension day bank holiday) which entailed waking up at 5am which was not so fun. However, I managed to sleep on the train so that by the time I got to Munich at about midday I was raring to go!

We decided to explore without a map, getting lost in the town. This was a great way of seeing everything as we kept bumping into beautiful buildings.

img_0191

After getting lunch in a cafe (i got pork and mash, note the zero vegetables it was not a healthy trip haha). We climbed St Peter’s Church. It was only €1 for students, and the view was stunning. It was nice to see the aerial view at the beginning of the trip so that it was easier to contextualise everything when on the ground.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
was definitely worth the climb!

Next was the Residenz, this is the former palace of the monarchs of Bavaria and is so grand and stunning. Though it cost €6 for students, it came with a free audio guide which was so informative.

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

For dinner we went to Gaststatte Bavaria Augustiner where, surprise surprise, we got meat and potatoes haha. This time however, we also ordered Sauerkraut which is a German delicacy of basically fermented cabbage. Ngl I wasn’t the biggest fan but it was a vegetable so that’s good i guess haha

img_0246

We also got beer, of course!

15073457_10207964743904445_2174215691410661199_n

On Saturday we started the day with pastries (I went for a pain au raisin and croissant because it’s not like I get enough of them here in Paris haha) and headed to Nymphenburg Palace. This is a little further out from the centre of Munich but was well worth the short tram ride and the almost -2 degrees weather at this point.

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

The great hall was so stunning. The pictures do not do it any justice at all, it was so ornately and prettily decorated yet avoided being garish. It was worth the entrance fee just to see that room!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
literally I’m in love

The other rooms were quite similar to those in the Residenz, the Nymphenburg Palace was actually the summer residence for the Bavarian monarchs. You could tell they took inspiration for these two palaces from Versailles and French style, but it was so interesting to see a Bavarian take on it. The gardens were also stunning, however to be honest we were a bit too cold to fully appreciate them. They must be so so lovely on a summer’s day though.

img_0267

We then headed to Englischer Garten which was a very pretty park and then headed back to the centre to go to Asam Church. This is a Baroque church and the interior is stunning. When we got there it was dark outside which added a creepy atmosphere to the dark church. It almost looked like a grotto? It’s hard to describe and the pictures I took certainly do not do it justice but I’d highly recommend a visit.

img_0280
people were surfing it was like 1 degrees?!?!?!
img_0296
Asam Church (sorry for the awful picture lol)

For dinner we went to Hofbrauhaus, a beer hall which apparently dates from the 16th century. This was really fun, you sit at these massive benches and order a litre of beer each. The atmosphere was so cheerful and the food was good.

img_0319
you have no idea how heavy that was
img_0303
woo some vegetables!!

Sunday we dragged ourselves to a bakery in the Universitat area which was actually really trendy. I got a vanilla croissant and then a strange pastry thing which I didn’t end up taking a photo of but tbh i didn’t really rate it so you’re not missing out!

img_0306

We then went to Museum Brandhorst, a modern art museum. To be honest, most of the art in there I didn’t really understand. I think that’s to do with me not understanding modern art more than anything, like I thought I could easily splash some paint on a canvas too? The Andy Warhol stuff was cool though!

img_0310

Next was the Neue Pinakothek Museum which I enjoyed much more. This houses art from Europe in the 18th and 19th Century and has stunning works. I also liked how the Museum was laid out, each room had a distinctive feel and was ordered chronologically, meaning you could appreciate the evolution of art in this time.

img_0311
woo the sunflowers!

And then I had to head back to catch my train. Overall this was such a fun trip, and it was really refreshing to have a weekend away from Paris. I really liked Munich, it’s very different to Paris, everything is much more spread out and a bit more industrial but I just enjoyed how it has a very distinctive character. And the buildings were very beautiful, which is always important for me haha.

I will definitely be heading back to Germany soon! (Also the beer was great!!)

Leave a Reply

