A Definite Low

So as promised, the aim of this blog is to document the highs and lows of the coming year, and here is a definite low!


My friend and I were looking at a menu outside a restaurant the other day, when a man came up to us with a handful of coins saying something in French. We assumed he was asking for money and I said “Sorry, I don’t understand” in English, in the hope he’d think we don’t speak French and would walk away.

Well that didn’t happen.

Instead, he leaned in, as if he was going to repeat himself more slowly to me, and SPAT in my ear and started shouting words such as “PUTAIN, GROS SALOPE” in a big angry aggressive attack

I’m glad I didn’t understand everything he was saying, but that was enough to put us in shock. He kept going for about three minutes as he walked away..

It sounds kinda funny I’ll admit but about three minutes later, let’s be real, I had a little cry… In public… in front of so many people D:

Even though I’ve washed my ear and hair so much, I can still feel it. Ears are just such sensitive places – it was not okay!!

Luckily I think I’ve recovered from the trauma now, but it has made me very wary of everyone I encounter. Obviously that’s good like you shouldn’t be too trusting, but it’s not so good when you’re literally walking around so paranoid and jumpy!

Hopefully that’ll calm down soon. And I guess it’s good to experience the reality of Paris?? I don’t know, I’ve been trying to find a positive from this but still cannot think of anything!

6 thoughts on “A Definite Low

  1. I was wondering if you ever thought of changing the layout of your site? Its very well written; I love what youve got to say. But maybe you could a little more in the way of content so people could connect with it better. Youve got an awful lot of text for only having 1 or two images. Maybe you could space it out better?

    Like

    1. Thank you for the suggestion! However, if you read the post it doesn’t really seem appropriate to add photos? A tramp was spitting at me I wasn’t exactly going to be taking pictures haha! My other posts have plenty though if you want to check them out πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. Oh you poor thing. That sounds dreadful. I would be upset and traumatised by that also. It is good to be aware of your surroundings but it will limit your experience if you are wary of everyone. Crying is good. Crying in public, who cares? No one knows you right. Don’t worry. It’s a sign you are human. The French show emotion, they understand.

    You may be shaken for some time. I hope though, that you can put this experience aside and enjoy the rest of your time away. I hope too that you encounter many generous and kind people in your travels.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, that sounds just awful! 😦 I’m sorry you had to experience that, but I’m also glad you wrote about it, since a lot of bloggers tend to gloss over the low points. I hope the rest of Paris has been treating you well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much- I figured that when I look back on my year abroad I wanna remember stuff like this, so it felt natural to write about it! But yeah thank you! Paris has been lovely so far other than this unfortunate incident haha πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

