Stop Stressing Out!

three tips for Combatting Stress

I am not good with stress, before any exam my body goes into shutdown and the sight of food makes me feel sick. With the departure date for my year abroad fast approaching, I’m starting to feel the stress build. So, in the hope that I’ll take my own advice in the next few days, I’ve written a list of my top three methods for coping with stress.

Cats

As anyone who knows me will attest (and a quick glance through my instagram will confirm) I’m mad for cats. I have two at home and whenever I stroke them I can literally feel the endorphins rushing into me.

img_8479
Even looking at this makes me feel more chilled out!

Admittedly, the cat has to be in the mood, a problem you don’t encounter nearly as much with dogs.. but as everyone knows cats are much much cuter (!)

Colouring-in

Processed with VSCO with hb2 preset

For a more accessible form of relaxation, and one that won’t flounce off when it tires of you, colouring-in is perfect. This is actually only a recent discovery for me- after giving in a terrile piece of coursework a few months ago, I found myself, as you do, in Paperchase. There, I saw something that I could not just let pass.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset
a two in one!

This book is perfect for me, I like art but find thinking of something to draw actually pretty stressful, so this removes that stressful element and leaves me with just enough creativity to feel like I’m not wasting my time! And of course who doesn’t want to look at a cat whilst de-stressing?!

Shopping

There is nothing like a bit of retail therapy to see the beauty in life again. Okay that’s probably a little extreme, but as alluded to earlier, when the going gets tough, I go shopping!

not a clue what I’ll wear these with but they still make me so happy!

There’s a certain joy in knowing that you own something new (and in planning when you’re going to wear it and what you’ll wear it with) that is a very good distraction from the horror of a coursework mark!

I hope these tips help you with some methods on how to cope with stress- be sure to let me know if you have any other suggestions!

One thought on “Stop Stressing Out!

Leave a Reply

