Why am I doing this?!

Why start a Blog-3
With the start of my year abroad fast approaching (departure date set for 30th July), a  question I’ve been asking myself is why start a blog now? I am going to have a lot on my plate- I’ll be moving to a country where I only barely speak the language, working in an internship full-time, attempting to make a whole new circle of friends and contending with a new system of bank accounts, healthcare and mobile phone contracts.

For me, the answer can be found in the tonne of diaries I have lying around my room at home: I love to document what is happening. Perhaps even more, I really enjoy reading back posts from my diaries and journals, and laughing/cringing at my pretentiousness/ insane overreactions. So this is just another form of those diaries! (notice the pretentious warning…)

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset
i literally have four different diaries on the go right now

People keep telling me that your year abroad is meant to be the best year of your life so far. Whether that is true or is just a cliché remains to be seen. However, I can easily believe that it will be a very intense year, and that I will learn so much more than a year at university would teach me… so it’ll probably be the best year yet to document what happens.

But then why post everything publicly, why not just keep a diary? Well, partly because I think (hope) my friends and family would be mildly interested in finding out what is happening in my life without having to constantly ask me, and partly because blogging looks really fun. And yes, I’m jumping on the bandwagon, let’s be real.

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

 

Leave a Reply

